Wherefore Art Thou, Inspiration?

Art, creativity

I’ve been thinking a lot about writing.  Really writing, not just blog writing… which is really writing, but it’s not…if you know what I mean…

I want to write a short story or a novel or something like that.  I looked into a creative writing program at Emory, just to get me started and you have to have a portfolio of things you have written to get into the program…Which seems kind of counter intuitive, since you’re supposed to be learning to write.  But OK.  So I thought perhaps I could include this poem that I wrote somewhere around 1988.

Ode to Toes

My Mom tells me her woes

Of her oh so broken toes.

Sometimes a chair

Gives her a scare.

Sometimes the doorframe

Is to blame.

She may seem like a twit,

But she’s really having a fit.

“Oh, Oh” she cries, “the pain,

Its making me insane.”

She cries an awful lot

And her clumsiness makes her hot.

But someday her toes will heal

And she’ll say, “What a good deal.”

An original piece of creative artwork by:  Melanie

I am fairly certain that this could lead to my writing stardom, right?
Creative inspiration…where does it come from?   
I know I have many creative friends out there…song writers, comedians, musicians, writers, artists…what inspires you?  Your mom’s broken toes??

Leave a comment